

Shaping the Practice of Soil Science in Maine

Maine Association of Professional Soil Scientists 2012 Annual Meeting Program Agenda

Abromson Center, University of Southern Maine - Portland, Maine Friday, March 16, 2012

8:00- 8:30 Registration (coffee and pastries provided)

8:30-10:00 BUSINESS MEETING

- President's Introduction *Johanna Szillery* (5 minutes)
- Treasurer's Report Gary Fullerton (10 minutes)
- Secretary's Report Allison Montgomery (10 minutes)
- MDEP Task Force Update Bonnie Cobb, Michael Banaitis (10 minutes)
- Envirothon Donation David Rocque (10 minutes)
- University of Maine Soil Judging Team donation Ken Stratton (5 minutes)
- Education Committee Michael Glessner/ David Turcotte (15 minutes)
 - o Cormier Scholarship Fund
 - Improvements to display and educational materials
- UMaine Update *Ivan Fernandez* (10 minutes)
- USM Update Samantha Langley-Turnbaugh (10 minutes)
- NRCS Updates Anthony Jenkins (10 minutes)

10:00-10:15 **ELECTION OF OFFICERS** - Nominating Committee (*Anna Donahue*)

10:15 - 10:30 Break

10:30-11:45 **NEW BUSINESS**

- MAPSS/ MAWS Action Committee exploring a joint natural resources professional group Johanna Szillery, Lee Burman, Albert Frick (20 minutes)
- Technical Committee Update and Proposed Changes *Christopher Dorion* (20 minutes)
- 2012 Workshop Northeast Regional Cooperative Soil Survey Conference June 18-21, 2012 *Anthony Jenkins* (15 minutes)
- 2012 MAPPS workshop David Rocque (15 minutes)

11:45-12:30	Buffet lunch
12:30 -1:15	"Trace Element Deposition on Mount Everest" Bill Yeo, University of Southern Maine
1:15 - 1:45	"Trends in the practice of soil science in the United States" Dawn Ferris, Soil Science Program Coordinator, Soil Science Society of America
1:45 - 2:00	"Academia, Jobs, Soils and Why Do We Care" Ivan Fernandez, Professor of Soil Science, University of Maine
2:00 - 3:30	Panel Discussion: Shaping the Practice of Soil Science in Maine Panelists: James Brooks, Darryl Brown, Andrew Carpenter, Dawn Ferris, Ivan Fernandez, Stephen Howell, Anthony Jenkins, David Rocque
3:30 – 4:00	Moving Forward Johanna Szillery, MAPSS President